Trauma Unit

  (also see trauma service @ottawatrauma)

Staff members in the Trauma unit are:

Trauma Administrative Assistant =Debbie Charbonneau
Advanced Practice Nurse (APN) = Alanna Keenan
Trauma coordinator = Mathieu Lebreton
Injury prevention and PARTY coordinator = Sonshire Figueira
Data analyst = Heather Knight

The Ottawa Hospital, Civic Campus is designated as a Level 1 Lead Trauma Centre and is one of 9 adult Lead Trauma Hospitals in Ontario.  It provides high-quality trauma care to the populace of the Champlain Local Health Integration Network (LHIN), in addition to patients from Baffin Island (Territory of Nunavut) and Western Quebec.

The trauma unit cares for more than 700 trauma patients annually.  Of this group, more than 400 cases are assessed and admitted to the dedicated Trauma Service, an intermediate care unit, dedicated to the care of the trauma patients.

Emphasis is aimed at injury prevention through initiatives:

  • Prevent Alcohol and Risk Related Trauma in Youth (PARTY)
    Twitter account @PARTY_ottawa
  • fall risk prevention
  • prevent distracted driving incidents

The staff members are actively involved in the education of undergraduate medical students and postgraduate trainees (residents and fellows) and in continuing professional development for physicians and nurse in practice.  Examples of ongoing educational initiatives include:

  • Trauma Evaluation and Management (TEAM) course was taught to medical
    students for the first time in 2014.  TEAM is now included in the Surgical Boot Camp for year 3 of the medical school curriculum
  • the service held 11 Rural Trauma Team Development courses (RTTDC)
    aimed at Community hospitals of the Champlain LHIN
  • 4-5 Advanced Trauma Life Support (ATLS) courses per year for practicing
    staff and residents
  • 3 or 4 Trauma Nursing Core Courses (TNCC) per year
  • 2 or 3 Advanced Trauma Care for Nursing courses (ATCN) per year
  • Annual Ottawa Trauma Conference  (
  • Annual Nursing Trauma day

Recent Highlights and Honours for the trauma subspecialty unit include the following:

  • recent inception of Trauma Quality and Improvement Program (TQIP)
  • successful 2 year pilot site for Regional Trauma Network under the guidance of Ontario Trauma Advisory Committee (OTAC) and the Critical Care Services of Ontario (CCSO)
  • Dr. Jacinthe Lampron 
    • Trauma Medical Director for The Ottawa Hospital (TOH)
    • appointed as a Clinical Investigator in the Clinical Epidemiology
      Program in 2015
    • TOH representative at Ontario Trauma Advisory Committee (OTAC)

A list of research by the staff members of the trauma service is provided in the General Surgery Division Research section of the website.