2013 News and Events

Fall 2013

Announcement, Oct 22, 2013

Canadian delegates at the 5th Biennial meeting of the WHO Global Initiative for Emergency and Essential Surgical Care, Port of Spain, Trinidad, October 15, 2013. From left to right:  Dr. Paul Moroz,  University of  Ottawa, Dr. Bob Taylor, University of British Columbia, Genelle Leifso, RN, British Columbia Institute of Technology.

This is to announce that Dr. Paul J. Moroz, of the Division of Orthopaedic Surgery at CHEO, was appointed Vice-Chair of the Committee of Education and Training for the World Health Organization’s (WHO) Global Initiative of Emergency and Essential Surgical Care (GIEESC). This occurred at the 5th Biennial meeting of WHO GIEESC held in Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, on Oct 14 – 15, 2013. The WHO GIEESC includes more than 1,000 members from more than 100 countries who are involved in reducing death and disability from injuries, pregnancy related complications, disasters, and other surgical conditions in low and middle income countries (LMIC).  One of the mandates of Dr. Moroz’s committee is to supervise over a 2 year period a revision of a WHO’s major surgical publication “ Surgical Care at the District Hospital”, a manual for LMIC which has been translated into several languages.  The WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system.

Summer 2013

The Department of Surgery Memoirs

Memoirs to highlight past chairs.

In the new executive suites at the General Campus, the Department of Surgery has designed a wall of memoirs to highlight past chairs, since the creation of the Department of Surgery at the University of Ottawa in 1946, as well as current events.

Spring 2013

Award List - Collins Day 2013

2013 Collins Surgcial Day Reception and Dinner, held at the Rideau Club.

Excellence in Teaching - Best Staff Teacher

  • Dr. Husein Moloo
  • Dr. Chris Morash

Outstanding Resident Teaching – Best Resident Teacher

  • Christopher Zappavigna – Urology
  • Amanda Williamson – General Surgery
  • Reilly Musselman – General Surgery

W.E. Collins Prize – Best Overall Paper

  • Dr. Hadi Toeg – Cardiac Surgery

Graeme Barber Prize – Best Clinical Paper

  • Dr. Marie-France Rancourt – Orthopedic Surgery

J.P. Collins Prize – Best Basic Science Paper

  • Dr. Amy Bazzareilli – General Surgery

Best Poster Presentation

  • Dr. Ehab Elzayat – Urology

Winter 2013

Annual Holiday Reception

Annual cocktail reception held at the University of Ottawa.

The Department of Surgery celebrated the Holidays with the new Interim Chair, Dr. Sudhir Sundaresan, at the Annual Holiday Reception held at the University of Ottawa on December 6th. It was a pleasure to see and chat with colleagues at this event.

CUSP is now at TOH

CUSP day with experts held at the Civic Campus.

What is CUSP? It stands for: Comprehensive Unit-Based Safety Program. In April 2010, TOH joined the American College of Surgeons National Surgical Quality Improvement Program (NSQIP). NSQIP is a clinical program which is data driven with risk adjusted outcomes to measure and improve the quality and safety of surgical care. Proven benefits of participation include: reducing morbidity and mortality, decreasing length of stay and improving patient satisfaction via the identification of quality improvement targets.

Presently, there are hundreds of NSQIP participating sites worldwide that TOH is benchmarked with. At TOH, The Board of Governors has mandated that we address our Surgical Site Infections (SSI). CUSP is a proven program to reduce surgical complications and improve patient safety.

On March 6th, 2013, we hosted the expert CUSP mentoring team Deborah Hobson (front line ICU nurse at John Hopkins), Dr. Elizabeth Wick (colorectal surgeon at John Hopkins) and Dr. Clifford Ko (colorectal surgeon at UCLA and president of the ACS NSQIP Program). They presented at an interdisciplinary Grand Round and mentored the three inaugural teams at TOH. The inaugural teams are colorectal surgery, vascular surgery and orthopedic surgery.

This event proved to be a great kick off and will certainly be a catalyst towards improved quality and safety of care TOH!

Dr. Sundaresan in the Ottawa Citizen

Dr. Sundaresan featured in an article in the Ottawa Citizen.

The Department of Surgery’s Interim Chair talks about how a simple scheduling change cut surgical wait times at Ottawa Hospital.

Dr. Paul Moroz President Elect of the CPSSG

Dr. Moroz with group at Annual General Meeting of the Canadian Spine Society in Mont Tremblant.

The Department of Surgery congratulates Dr. Paul Moroz the newly elected President of the Canadian Paediatric Spine Study Group (CPSSG) at the recent Annual General Meeting of the Canadian Spine Society in Mont Tremblant. The appointment is for a 3 year period.

Dr. Moroz, an Assistant Professor at the University of Ottawa, Division of Orthopaedic Surgery, succeeds Dr. Ronald El-Hawari from the IWK Paediatric Hospital and Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

The CPSSG was formed in 2004 and represents all of the paediatric spine surgeons across Canada, including orthopaedic surgeons and neurosurgeons, as well as allied-health workers (nurse practitioners, physiotherapists, intraoperative neuromonitoring technicians) and researchers working in the area of paediatric spine. The CPSSG seeks to provide the best evidence-based standards for clinical practise, research and advocacy for children in Canada and around the world with any and all disorders affecting the growing spine, including spinal syndromes, deformity, trauma, infections and tumours.