Provincial


College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario (CPSO)

The College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario (CPSO) regulates the practice of medicine in Ontario in the interest of the public. All physicians must be members of the CPSO in order to practice medicine in Ontario, unlike the CMA or OMA which function more as voluntary advocacy groups. The CPSO sets policies for physicians to follow and maintains high standards of medical practice through a system of peer review and remediation. It also investigations complaints against physicians by patients and, where appropriate, takes disciplinary action. The main functions of the college as outlined on the CPSO website are summarized below:

  1. Registration
  2. Education
  3. Investigations
  4. Discipline
  5. Quality assurance (which includes physician assessment)
  6. Patient Relations

http://www.cpso.on.ca/About-Us

For a detailed look at CPSO Policies including Conflict of Interest, Drugs and Prescribing Group of Policies, Professional Responsibilities in Undergraduate and Postgraduate Medical Education, Professional Misconduct and many others, refer to the CPSO site below: http://www.cpso.on.ca/Policies-Publications/Policy


Ontario College of Family Physicians (OCFP)

The Ontario College of Family Physicians (OCFP) is a provincial branch of the national College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC). The OCFP, like its national counterpart, is a voluntary non-profit organization dedicated to both undergraduate and postgraduate medical education and the continuing medical education of physicians. As a provincial organization, the OCFP provides a forum for family physicians to voice their ideas and concerns about health care issues in Ontario. Each province in Canada has its own branch of the CFPC. For further information about the Ontario College of Family Physicians visit their website: www.ocfp.on.ca


Ontario Medical Association (OMA)

The Ontario Medical Association (OMA) is a voluntary nonprofit organization that was founded in 1880 to represent Ontario physicians and the communities they serve. The organization addresses the political, clinical, and economic interests of Ontario’s medical profession and is open to medical students, residents and physicians on a membership basis. In terms of providing a voice to the medical community, the OMA proposes health policies and, once approved by the OMA Board of Directors, submits them to the government for approval. In addition, the organization provides insurance and legal services, a physician health program, and information on locum placements for physicians. The OMA mission statement briefly summarizes the goals of the organization:

  1. Represent and serve Ontario physicians.
  2. Provide leadership for an accessible, quality health-care system.
  3. Advocate for the health of Ontarians.

For further information about the Ontario Medical Association, visit their website: www.oma.org

© University of Ottawa
For additional information, consult our list of contacts
Technical questions? webmaster@uottawa.ca
Last updated: 2015.09.08

Provincial


Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario (OMCO)

L’Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario (OMCO) réglemente la pratique de la médecine en Ontario, dans le plus grand intérêt du public. Tous les médecins doivent être membres de l’OMCO pour pratiquer la médecine en Ontario. En revanche, ils peuvent choisir s’ils veulent ou non être membres du CMA ou de l’OMA, car ces organismes fonctionnent davantage comme des groupes volontaires de revendication. L’OMCO établit des politiques que les médecins doivent respecter et maintient des normes élevées de pratique dans un système de révision et de mesures correctrices par les pairs. Il enquête en outre sur les plaintes que des patients ont déposées contre des médecins et, au besoin, applique des mesures disciplinaires. Les principales fonctions de l’OMCO sont résumées ci-dessus, tel que présenté sur son site Web :

  1. Inscription
  2. Éducation
  3. Enquêtes
  4. Discipline
  5. Contrôle de la qualité (incluant l'évaluation du médecin)
  6. Rapports avec les patients

http://www.cpso.on.ca/About-Us (disponible seulement en anglais)

Pour une étude approfondie des politiques de l’OMCO, notamment de celles sur les conflits d’intérêts, les groupes de politiques sur les médicaments et leur prescription, la responsabilité professionnelle et la formation médicale de premier cycle ainsi que postdoctorale, la faute professionnelle et de nombreuses autres, consulter le site Web de l’OMCO à l’adresse suivante : http://www.cpso.on.ca/Policies-Publications/Policy (disponible seulement en anglais)

Ontario College of Family Physicians (OCFP)

L’Ontario College of Family Physicians (OCFP) est la section provinciale du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (CMFC) et œuvre à l’échelle nationale. L’OCFP, à l’instar de son organisme de contrepartie, est une association volontaire sans but lucratif qui se consacre à la formation médicale de premier cycle et postdoctorale, de même qu’à l’éducation médicale continue. À titre d’organisme provincial, l’OCFP offre un forum aux médecins de famille, leur permettant d’exprimer leurs idées et leurs préoccupations sur les enjeux dans le domaine de la santé en Ontario. Chaque province canadienne possède sa propre section du CMFC. Pour plus d’information sur l’Ontario College of Family Physicians, visiter son site Web au www.ocfp.on.ca (disponible seulement en anglais).

Ontario Medical Association (OMA)

L’Ontario Medical Association (OMA) est un organisme volontaire sans but lucratif qui a été fondé en 1880 pour représenter les médecins de l’Ontario et les communautés qu’ils desservent. L’organisme défend les intérêts politiques, cliniques et économiques des membres de la profession médicale de l’Ontario. Les étudiants en médecine, les résidents et les médecins peuvent en faire partie. Pour donner une voix à la communauté médicale, l’OMA propose des politiques de santé qui, une fois approuvées par son conseil d’administration, seront soumises au gouvernement à des fins d’approbation. L’organisme offre en outre des services juridiques et d’assurances, un programme de soins médicaux pour les médecins ainsi que de l’information sur les placements de suppléance pour les médecins. L’énoncé de mission de l’OMA résume les buts de l’organisme :  

  1. Représenter les médecins de l’Ontario et les desservir.
  2. Indiquer la voie à suivre pour un système de santé accessible et de qualité.
  3. Militer pour la santé de la population ontarienne.

Pour plus d’information sur l’Ontario Medical Association, visiter leur site Web au : www.oma.org (disponible seulement en anglais)

© Université d'Ottawa
Pour d'autres renseignements, consultez la liste des points de contact.
Questions d'ordre technique ? webmaster@uottawa.ca
Dernières modifications : 2015.09.08