National

Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC)

The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC) was established in 1929 by an Act of the Canadian Parliament. It is a national, nonprofit organization which oversees the medical education of specialists in Canada. The RCPSC sets standards for both the training and evaluation of specialists during residency and for the highest quality of patient care. The Royal College is also responsible for writing the certifying exams within postgraduate medical education. The mission statement of the college emphasizes its dedication to setting standards for the education of specialists:

“An organization of medical specialists dedicated to ensuring
the highest standards and quality of health care.”

In 1996, the Royal College published the first edition of the CanMEDS framework of essential physician competencies. Since then, the document has been revised to incorporate the values and attributes required of physician specialists in today’s society. In 2005, The CanMEDS 2005 Physician Competency Framework was published as a model for medical education and physician competence both in Canada and around the world. The following CanMEDS diagram summarizes the various roles expected of the competent physician:

canmeds

http://www.royalcollege.ca/portal/page/portal/rc/canmeds


To view the 2015 CanMEDS Physician Competency Framework: http://www.royalcollege.ca/portal/page/portal/rc/canmeds/canmeds2015

 

College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC)

The College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC), like the RCPSC, is a national voluntary organization dedicated to the education of physicians in Canada. Established in 1954, the CFPC oversees family medicine residency training programs across Canada and is also very active in continuing medical education. The goal of the organization is to promote the highest quality health care at the level of the primary physician by setting high standards in postgraduate education and encouraging continuing physician education. The College of Family Physicians of Canada outlines four principles fundamental to the practice of family medicine:

  1. The family physician is a skilled clinician.
  2. Family medicine is a community-based discipline.
  3. The family physician is a resource to a defined practice population.
  4. The patient-physician relationship is central to the role of the family physician.

For a detailed description of the four principles of family medicine refer to the CFPC link below:
http://www.cfpc.ca/Principles/

 

Canadian Medical Association (CMA)

The Canadian Medical Association (CMA) was created in 1867 by a group of 164 physicians that wanted a national medical body to represent the Canadian population. Since its establishment, the CMA has lobbied on behalf of its physician members and their patients to parliament and to society. The CMA has also become a powerful advocate for public health issues and a strong supporter of the Canadian Medicare system. In addition, the organization collects and interprets data about health care trends in Canada and ensures that physicians have a unified voice in a system with rapidly changing demands. The CMA mission statement summarizes the role of the organization in society:

“To serve and unite the physicians of Canada and be the national advocate, in partnership
with the people of Canada, for the highest standards of health and health care.”

Apart from its active role in advocacy, the Canadian Medical Association establishes various policies with regards to the pharmaceutical industry, wait times, better access to health care and other key issues. One of the most important documents published by the organization is the CMA Code of Ethics. Updated in 2004, the Code of Ethics is a guide to ethical behaviour for physicians, residents, and medical students to follow. The CMA Code of Ethics is available online at: http://policybase.cma.ca/dbtw-wpd/PolicyPDF/PD04-06.pdf

In 2001, the Canadian Medical Association began a project called ‘Protecting and Enhancing Professionalism in Medicine.’ The goal of the project was to develop an approach for dealing with the many challenges facing the publicly funded health care system. At the core of the project was a desire to protect the qualities of medical professionalism which were being threatened by an increased commercialization of health care. In 2002, the Committee on Ethics published a discussion paper on Professionalism in Medicine, available online on the CMA website: https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/en/advocacy/CMA_med_pro_PD06-02-e.pdf

For further information about the CMA or their stance on Professionalism in Medicine, visit www.cma.ca

© University of Ottawa
For additional information, consult our list of contacts
Technical questions? medtech@uottawa.ca
Last updated: 2014.10.21

National

Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada (CRMCC)

Le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada (CRMCC) a été fondé en 1929 en vertu d’une loi spéciale du Parlement du Canada. Cet organisme national et sans but lucratif encadre la formation médicale des spécialistes au Canada. Le CRMCC établit des normes pour la formation et l’évaluation des spécialistes pendant leur résidence, de même que pour la plus haute qualité de soins aux patients. Le Collège royal s’occupe également de la rédaction des examens menant à l’obtention du certificat dans le cadre de la formation médicale postdoctorale. L’énoncé de mission du Collège souligne sa volonté à établir des normes pour encadrer la formation de spécialistes :

« Une organisation de médecins spécialistes vouée à l’établissement de normes de pratique et à l’assurance de la qualité des soins de santé. »

En 1996, le Collège royal a publié la première édition du Cadre de compétences essentielles CanMEDS pour les médecins. Depuis lors, le document a été mis à jour de façon à comprendre les valeurs et les qualités des spécialistes de la société contemporaine. Le Cadre de compétences CanMEDS 2005 pour les médecins a été publié en 2005 en tant que modèle de formation médicale et de compétences professionnelles médicales, tant au Canada qu’à l’échelle internationale. Le schéma CanMEDS suivant résume les divers rôles qu’un médecin compétent est appelé à assumer :

canmeds

http://www.royalcollege.ca/portal/page/portal/rc/canmeds

Pour avoir accès au Cadre de compétences CanMEDS 2005 pour les médecins, cliquer sur le lien ci-dessous:
http://www.royalcollege.ca/portal/page/portal/rc/common/ documents/canmeds/framework/the_7_canmeds_roles_f.pdf

Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (CMFC)

À l’instar du CRMCC, le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (CMFC) est un organisme national volontaire qui se consacre à l’éducation des médecins au Canada. Fondé en 1954, le CMFC supervise les programmes de résidence en médecine familiale à l’échelle du Canada, en plus de jouer un rôle très actif en éducation médicale continue. L’organisme vise à inciter le médecin de premier recours à prodiguer les meilleurs soins en établissant des normes élevées au niveau des études postdoctorales et en encourageant l’éducation médicale continue. Le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada a déterminé quatre principes de base dans la pratique de la médecine familiale :  

  1. Le médecin de famille est un clinicien compétent.
  2. La médecine familiale est une discipline communautaire.
  3. Le médecin de famille est une ressource pour une population définie de patients.
  4. La relation médecin-patient constitue l’essence du rôle du médecin de famille.

Pour une description détaillée des quatre principes de la médecine familiale, cliquer sur le lien ci-dessous du CMFC :  
http://www.cfpc.ca/projectassets/templates/category.aspx?id=885&langType=3084

Association médicale canadienne (AMC)

L’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) a été fondée en 1867 par un groupe de 164 médecins qui désiraient qu’un organisme médical national représente la population canadienne. Depuis sa fondation, l’AMC a défendu les intérêts de ses médecins membres et de leurs patients auprès du Parlement et dans la société, en plus de militer activement dans le domaine de la santé publique et d’appuyer ardemment la cause du système d’assurance-maladie canadien. De plus, l’organisme recueille et interprète des données sur les tendances en matière de soins de santé au Canada et veille à ce que les médecins marchent d’un seul pas dans un système où les demandes évoluent rapidement. L’énoncé de mission de l’AMC résume de la façon suivante le rôle de l’organisme dans la société

« Servir et unir les médecins du Canada et défendre sur la scène nationale, en collaboration avec la population du Canada, les normes les plus élevées de santé et de soins de santé. »

Outre son rôle actif de défenseur des intérêts, l’Association médicale canadienne établit diverses politiques à l’égard de l’industrie pharmaceutique, des délais, d’un meilleur accès aux soins de santé et d’autres préoccupations clés. Le Code de déontologie de l’AMC est l’un des plus importants documents publiés par l’organisme. Mis à jour en  2004, le Code de déontologie sert de guide en ce qui a trait au comportement éthique que les médecins, résidents et étudiants en médecine doivent adopter. Le Code de déontologie est disponible en ligne au : http://policybase.cma.ca/dbtw-wpd/PolicyPDF/PD04-06F.pdf

En 2001, l’Association médicale canadienne a lancé le projet « Protecting and Enhancing Professionalism in Medicine » (protéger et améliorer le professionnalisme médical). Ce projet visait à instaurer une approche permettant de composer avec les nombreux défis auxquels le système de santé financé par l’État est confronté. Au cœur même du projet se trouvait le désir de protéger les qualités du professionnalisme médical qui étaient menacées par une commercialisation accrue des soins de santé. Ainsi, en 2002, le comité d’éthique a publié un document de travail sur le professionnalisme médical, disponible en ligne, sur le site web de l’AMC, au : https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/fr/PD06-02-f.pdf.

Pour plus d’information sur l’ACM ou sur leur position sur le professionnalisme médical, consulter leur site au :
https://www.cma.ca/fr/

© Université d'Ottawa
Pour d'autres renseignements, consultez la liste des points de contact.
Questions d'ordre technique ? webmaster@uottawa.ca
Dernières modifications : 2016.04.19