Contact Information

Manon Levesque Departmental Secretary of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
451 Smyth road,
Room 4155
Ottawa, Ontario
K1H 8M5

Telephone: 613-562-5422
Fax: 613-562-5442
Email: mlevesq2@uottawa.ca

Sheila Schnupp
Office and Residency Program Administrator (Anatomical)
Telephone: 613-562-5800 ext. 8342
Fax: 613-562-5442
Email: sschnupp@uottawa.ca

John P. Veinot, M.D., F.R.C.P.C (Canada)
Chairman, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Tel: 613-562-5422
Fax: 613-562-5442
Email: sschnupp@uottawa.ca

Experimental Pathology Group

The Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine is pleased to extend its support to the University of Ottawa research network.

A group of interested pathologists, laboratory physicians and scientists has been formed and offers its services to any researcher who has need in any sector of pathology and laboratory medicine: tissue morphology, blood, serum or infectious diseases. The expertise provided may vary from technical advice or services with the support of our experienced laboratory staff to collaboration in the design of experiments involving animal morphology and biology. 

The group includes experienced veterinary and human anatomical pathologists, microbiologists, virologists and hematopathologists and complements the expert technical laboratory support we have been offering for several years. We encourage you to contact the group earlier, rather than too late, in your project design

Mission statement

The Experimental Pathology Group’s major objective is to support the research community in its design and conduct of research projects involving tissue morphology, blood, serum or infectious organisms. It is complementary to the expert technological support provided by the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine for several years.

Click here to view "Summary of Interest - Specialties"

Questions and answers

  1. How do I contact a member of the group?

    Please review the table of the members of the group below. Their expertise and interests are listed as well.

    You may contact any member of the group directly. You may also contact the histopathology laboratory (613-562-5800, ext. 8332) or the animal care facility staff (613-562-5412) who will be pleased to refer you to the most appropriate individual to support your needs.

  2. What level of commitment may I expect?

    This is one of the elements to be explored during your first meeting. The contacted individual will try to support your need as best as possible, and this includes the inclusion or even referral to another colleagues if, during the interaction, it is realized that the request may not all be honored, for whatever reasons.

  3. Intellectual property, authorship?

    This is research collaboration. As such, one will be very pleased to provide punctual advice as a courtesy without any expectation. However, more commitment should provide academic benefits for the provided support and we recommend to simply discuss it openly and to follow the guidelines of the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (http://www.icmje.org) or similar international organizations.

  4. How should I direct suggestions for improvement or comments?

    For questions, suggestions or comments, please contact Jean Michaud at jmichaud@uottawa.ca or Carol-Ann Jodouin at cjodouin@uottawa.ca

For technical laboratory support (slides, immunohistochemistry and more), please contact Carol-Ann Jodouin at: cjodouin@uottawa.ca

Experimental Pathology Group Specialties and Contact
Name Summary of Interest- Specialties Email

Aziz, Syed

  • Exp. Design
  • Stats
  • Breast
  • Ob/Gyn
  • Molecular Bio
  • Special Topics: IHC, Apoptosis, Angiogenesis, Microarrays
  • Model: Prognostic markers

Syed.a.aziz@hc-sc.gc.ca

Berardi, Philip
  • Hematopathology
  • Molecular Pathology
  • Precision Medicine
  • Epigenetics
pberardi@eorla.ca

Blanco, Paula

  • Renal and transplantation pathology
  • Ophthalmic pathology

pblanco@toh.on.ca

Buttar, Harpal

  • Reproduction and Development
  • Pharmacology and Toxicology

harpal.buttar@hc-sc.gc.ca

hsbuttar@bell.net

Daneshmand, Manijeh

  • Exp Design
  • Rodent Experience
  • General Path
  • Molecular Biology
  • Model: Biomarkers

mdaneshmand@ohri.ca

deBold, Mercedes
  • Tissue culture
  • Neonatal and ventricular cardiomyocytes
  • HL-1 atrial-derived murine cell line (secretory) phenotype
  • HeLa cells (immortal cell line derived from cervical cancer)
  • Mixed lymphocyte reaction (MLR, an in vitro model of inflammation)
  • Polypeptide hormones antibody production; polyclonal and monoclonal
  • Polypeptide hormones isolation and purification by RP-HPLC
  • Production and purification of recombinant peptide hormones expressed in Pichia pastoris
  • RNA and DNA isolation
  • Northern, Southern and Western blotting
  • Isolated heart tissue perfusion
  • Whole body rodent perfusion fixation
  • Light and electron microscopy
  • Immunohisto-cytochemistry
  • Morphometry
  • Radioimmunoassay and ELISA assays

mdebold@ottawaheart.ca

deBold, Adolfo
  • Gene expression profiling by oligonucleotide array
  • Gene knockdown
  • Yeast-two-hybrid
  • Promoter assay
  • Isolation of subcellular organelles by differential and density gradient ultracentrifugations
  • Peptide isolation and purification by RP-HPLC
  • Neonatal rat ventricular and atrial cardiomyocytes and HL-1 atrial-derived murine cell (secretory phenotype) cultures
  • Light and electron microscopy
  • Morphometry
  • Heart tissue perfusion
  • Rat models of inflammation
  • Cytokine assays
  • Custom radioimmunoassays (iodination and antiserum production) of polypeptide hormones
  • Hybridoma

AdeBold@ottawaheart.ca

El Demellawy, Dina

  • Pediatric Gastrointestinal Diseases
  • Perinatal pathology
  • Bone Pathology

deldemellawy@cheo.on.ca

Flood, Trevor

  • Genitourinary Pathology

tflood@toh.on.ca

Giulivi, Antonio

  • Exp. Design
  • Stats
  • CNS
  • Special Topics: CJD Infection
  • Model: Stem Cells
  • Laboratory Medicine

agiulivi@ottawahospital.on.ca

Gomes, Marcio

  • Respiratory
  • Gastrointestinal
  • Tissue Repair

mgomes@toh.on.ca

Grynspan, David

  • Peripheral nervous system development
  • Peripheral nervous system pathology
  • Maternal-fetal and placental pathology
  • Pathology and the humanities.

dgrynspan@cheo.on.ca

Halwani, Fawaz
  • Gastrointestinal Pathology
  • Liver Pathology
  • Flow Cytometry
  • Image Analysis

fhalwani@eorla.ca

Islam, Shahidul

  • Breast Oncology
  • Gynaecologic Oncology
  • Cytopathology

sislam@ottawahospital.on.ca

Lai, Chi
  • Cardiovascular
  • Thoracic/pulmonary
  • Hean and Neck
  • Endocrine
  • Liver
  • Autopsy pathology

chilai@toh.on.ca

Michaud, Jean
  • Toxicology Path
  • General Path
  • CNS

jmichaud@cheo.on.ca

Mueller, Rudi
  • Exp Design
  • Stats
  • Rodent Experience
  • General Pathology
  • Hepatic
  • Cardiac
  • Cytopathology
  • Molecular Biology

Rudi.mueller@hc-sc.gc.ca

Paliga, Aleksandra
  • Histopathology
  • Flow Cytometry
  • Immunohistochemistry
  • Hematopathology
  • Gyne Pathology
apaliga@toh.ca
Petkiewicz, Stephanie
  • Dermatopathology
  • Breast Pathology
spetkiewicz@eorla.ca
Pulido, Olga
  • Toxicology Path
  • Rodent Experience
  • CNS
  • General Pathology
  • Immunopathology
  • Regulatory Toxicology
  • Celiac Disease
  • Food Intolerances
  • ALgal Toxins

opulido@uottawa.ca

Rousseaux, Collin
  • Toxicology Path
  • Exp Design
  • Stats
  • Rodent Experience
  • PK-PD
  • General Pathology
  • CNS
  • Respiratory
  • Hepatic
  • Cardiac
  • GIT

crousseaux@crxassociates.com

Sekhon, Harman
  • Tumourigenesis and oncologic biomarkers
  • Modulation of acetylcholine receptors in non-neuronal tumour cells
  • Cytopathology
  • Thoracic Pathology
  • Gynaecological Pathology

hsekhon@toh.on.ca

Slinger, Robert
  • Special Topics: Molecular diagnostics PCR pyro-sequencing

Slinger@cheo.on.ca

Veinot, John
  • Anatomical Pathology
  • Autopsy Pathology
  • Cardiac Pathology
  • Heart Transplantation
  • Vascular Pathology

jveinot@uottawa.ca

Wang, Donald
  • GU (kidney, bladder and prostate) Pathology/Oncology
  • Renal Pathology/Nephropathology/Kidney Transplant
  • Cytopathology
  • CNS, Brain Ischemia and Stroke

dwang@ottawahospital.on.ca

Woulfe, John
  • Neuropathology
  • Parkinsons Disease
  • Alzheimer's Disease
  • CNS

jwoulfe@ottawahospital.on.ca

Zhang, Wandong
  • Molecular mechanisms of the blood-brain barrier
  • Drug delivery into the brain
  • Pathogenic mechanisms of Alzheimer's disease
  • Signaling mechanisms of neuroinflammation
  • Biotranslational sciences

wzhan2@uottawa.ca

Wandong.Zhang@nrc.ca

© University of Ottawa
For additional information, consult our list of contacts
Technical questions? webmaster@uottawa.ca
Last updated: 2017.08.16 July 14th, 2017