Contact Information
Manon Levesque
Departmental Secretary of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
451 Smyth road,
Room 4155
Ottawa, Ontario
CANADA K1H 8M5
Telephone: 613-562-5422
Fax: 613-562-5442
e-mail: mlevesq2@uottawa.ca

Sheila Schnupp
Office and Residency Program Administrator (Anatomical and General Pathology)
Telephone: 613-562-5800 x8342
Fax: 613-562-5442
e-mail: sschnupp@uottawa.ca

John P. Veinot, M.D., F.R.C.P.C (Canada)
Chairman, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Tel: 613-562-5422
Fax: 613-562-5442
E-mail: sschnupp@uottawa.ca

Experimental Pathology Group

The Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine is pleased to extend its support to the University of Ottawa research network.

A group of interested pathologists, laboratory physicians and scientists has been formed and offers its services to any researcher who has need in any sector of pathology and laboratory medicine: tissue morphology, blood, serum or infectious diseases. The expertise provided may vary from technical advice or services with the support of our experienced laboratory staff to collaboration in the design of experiments involving animal morphology and biology. 

The group includes experienced veterinary and human anatomical pathologists, microbiologists, virologists and hematopathologists and complements the expert technical laboratory support we have been offering for several years. We encourage you to contact the group earlier, rather than too late, in your project design

Mission statement

The Experimental Pathology Group’s major objective is to support the research community in its design and conduct of research projects involving tissue morphology, blood, serum or infectious organisms. It is complementary to the expert technological support provided by the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine for several years.

Click here to view "Summary of Interest - Specialties"

Questions and answers

  1. How do I contact a member of the group?

    Please review the table of the members of the group below. Their expertise and interests are listed as well.

    You may contact any member of the group directly. You may also contact the histopathology laboratory (613-562-5800, ext. 8332) or the animal care facility staff (613-562-5412) who will be pleased to refer you to the most appropriate individual to support your needs.

  2. What level of commitment may I expect?

    This is one of the elements to be explored during your first meeting. The contacted individual will try to support your need as best as possible, and this includes the inclusion or even referral to another colleagues if, during the interaction, it is realized that the request may not all be honored, for whatever reasons.

  3. Intellectual property, authorship?

    This is research collaboration. As such, one will be very pleased to provide punctual advice as a courtesy without any expectation. However, more commitment should provide academic benefits for the provided support and we recommend to simply discuss it openly and to follow the guidelines of the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (http://www.icmje.org) or similar international organizations.

  4. How should I direct suggestions for improvement or comments?

    For questions, suggestions or comments, please contact Jean Michaud at jmichaud@uottawa.ca or Louise Pelletier at lpelleti@uottawa.ca


  5. For technical laboratory support (slides, immunohistochemistry and more), please contact Louise Pelletier at: lpelleti@uottawa.ca

Name

Summary of Interest- Specialties

Email

Aziz, Syed

  • Exp. Design
  • Stats
  • Breast
  • Ob/Gyn
  • Molecular Bio
  • Special Topics: IHC, Apoptosis, Angiogenesis, Microarrays
  • Model: Prognostic markers

Syed.a.aziz@hc-sc.gc.ca

Buttar, Harpal

  • Reproduction and Development
  • Pharmacology and Toxicology

harpal.buttar@hc-sc.gc.ca

Daneshmand, Manijeh

  • Exp Design
  • Rodent Experience
  • General Path
  • Molecular Biology
  • Model: Biomarkers

mdaneshmand@ohri.ca

deBold, Mercedes
  • Tissue culture
  • Neonatal and ventricular cardiomyocytes,
  • HL-1 atrial-derived murine cell line (secretory) phenotype,
  • HeLa cells (immortal cell line derived from cervical cancer)
  • Mixed lymphocyte reaction (MLR, an in vitro model of inflammation)
  • Polypeptide hormones antibody production; polyclonal and monoclonal
  • Polypeptide hormones isolation and purification by RP-HPLC
  • Production and purification of recombinant peptide hormones expressed in Pichia pastoris
  • RNA and DNA isolation
  • Northern, Southern and Western blotting
  • Isolated heart tissue perfusion
  • Whole body rodent perfusion fixation
  • Light and electron microscopy
  • Immunohisto-cytochemistry
  • Morphometry
  • Radioimmunoassay and ELISA assays
mdebold@ottawaheart.ca
deBold, Adolfo
  • Gene expression profiling by oligonucleotide array
  • Gene knockdown
  • Yeast-two-hybrid
  • Promoter assay
  • Isolation of subcellular organelles by differential and density gradient ultracentrifugations
  • Peptide isolation and purification by RP-HPLC
  • Neonatal rat ventricular and atrial cardiomyocytes and HL-1 atrial-derived murine cell (secretory phenotype) cultures
  • Light and electron microscopy
  • Morphometry
  • Heart tissue perfusion
  • Rat models of inflammation
  • Cytokine assays
  • Custom radioimmunoassays (iodination and antiserum production) of polypeptide hormones
  • Hybridoma
AdeBold@ottawaheart.ca

Djordjevic, Bojana

  • Cancer Biomarkers
  • Gynecology
  • Gynecologic Pathology

bdjordjevic@toh.on.ca

Flood, Trevor

  • Genitourinary Pathology

tflood@toh.on.ca

Giulivi, A.

  • Exp. Design
  • Stats
  • CNS
  • Special Topics: CJD Infection
  • Model: Stem Cells
  • Laboratory Medicine

agiulivi@ottawahospital.on.ca

Gomes, Marcio

  • Respiratory
  • Gastrointestinal
  • Tissue Repair

mgomes@toh.on.ca

Grynspan, David

  • Peripheral nervous system development
  • Peripheral nervous system pathology
  • Maternal-fetal and placental pathology
  • Pathology and the humanities.

dgrynspan@cheo.on.ca

Islam, Shahidul

  • Breast Oncology
  • Gynaecologic Oncology
  • Cytopathology

sislam@ottawahospital.on.ca

Karnauchow, Tim

  • Exp Design
  • Stats
  • CNS
  • Respiratory
  • Molecular Biology
  • Virology

tkarnauchow@cheo.on.ca

Keaney, Marilyn
And the entire ACVS team

  • Exp Design
  • Rodent Experience
  • General Pathology
  • Model
mkeaney@uottawa.ca
Michaud, J
  • Toxicology Path
  • General Path
  • CNS
jmichaud@cheo.on.ca
Mueller, R
  • Exp Design
  • Stats
  • Rodent Experience
  • General Pathology
  • Hepatic
  • Cardiac
  • Cytopathology
  • Molecular Biology
Rudi.mueller@hc-sc.gc.ca
Pulido, O
  • Toxicology Path
  • Rodent Experience
  • CNS
  • General Pathology
  • Immunopathology
  • Regulatory Toxicology
Olga_Pulido@hc-sc.gc.ca
Rousseaux, C
  • Toxicology Path
  • Exp Design
  • Stats
  • Rodent Experience
  • PK-PD
  • General Pathology
  • CNS
  • Respiratory
  • Hepatic
  • Cardiac
  • GIT
crousseaux@crxassociates.com
Sekhon, H
  • Basic Science
hsekhon@toh.on.ca
Slinger, R
  • Special Topics: Molecular diagnostics PCR pyro sequencing
Slinger@cheo.on.ca
Veinot, J
  • Anatomical Pathology
  • Autopsy Pathology
  • Cardiac Pathology
  • Heart Transplantation
  • Vascular Pathology
jveinot@uottawa.ca
Wang, D
  • GU (kidney, bladder and prostate) Pathology/Oncology
  • Renal Pathology/Nephropathology/Kidney Transplant
  • Cytopathology
  • CNS, Brain Ischemia and Stroke
dwang@ottawahospital.on.ca
Dr. John Woulfe
  • Neuropathology
  • Parkinsons Disease
  • Alzheimer's Disease
  • CNS
jwoulfe@ottawahospital.on.ca

Back to top

© University of Ottawa
For additional information, consult our list of contacts
Technical questions? medtech@uottawa.ca
Last updated: 2013.07.18