Adjunct Faculty

Orvill Adams, MA, BA
Director, Orvill Adams & Associates

Research Interests: Canadian and International Health Policy and Primary Health Care

orvill@orvilladams.com


*Carol Amaratunga, PhD
Dean, Office of Applied Research
Justice Institute of British Columbia

Research Interests: Population Health and Community Resilience, Intercultural Research on Gender Violence, Prehospital and Disaster Medicine

camaratunga@jibc.ca


Joseph Emmanuel Amuah, MSc, PhD
Senior Researcher, Health System Performance Branch
Canadian Institute for Health Information

Research Interests: Statistical and Epidemiological Methods in Health Research, Large Administrative Databases

jamuah@cihi.ca


Sonia Anand, BA, MD, PhD, FRCPC, Associate Professor
Department of Medicine, Division of Cardiology
Hamilton General Hosptial
Director, Vascular Medicine Clinic, Hamilton Health Services

Research Interests: Cardiovascular Research, Women's Health Research

anands@mcmaster.ca


*Neil Andersson, MD, MPhil, MSc, MRCS LRCP
Executive Director
Community Information and Epidemiological Technologies (CIET)
Institute of Population Health, University of Ottawa

Research Interests: Aboriginal Health and International Health Development


neil@ciet.org



Mohammed T. Ansari , MBBS, MMedSc, MPhil
Associate Investigator, Clinical Epidemiology Program, Ottawa Hospital Research Institute (OHRI)
Lead Clinical Methodologist, Knowledge Synthesis Group, CEP, OHRI

Research Interests: Risk of bias assessment for causal inference and critical appraisal of clinical studies; Grading the quality of, or confidence in, estimates of effects; Refining questions and developing conceptual models for comparative effectiveness reviews; Updating signal detection for systematic review out-datedness

moansari@ohri.ca


*Tye Arbuckle, MSc, PhD
Senior Epidemiologist & Research Scientist
Population Studies Division
Healthy Environments and Consumer Safety Branch
Health Canada

Research Interests: Measuring Human Exposure to Environmental Chemicals, and their Effect on Male and Female Reproductive Health


tye.arbuckle@hc-sc.gc.ca


Chris Archibald
, MDCM, MHSc, FRCPC
Director, Surveillance and Risk Assessment Division
Centre for Infectious Disease Prevention and Control
Population and Public Health Branch, Health Canada

Research Interests: Epidemiology and Surveillance of HIV/AIDs and related Infectious Diseases


chris_archibald@phac-aspc.gc.ca


Garry Aslanyan, DMD, MPH, PhD, FRCD(C)
Portfolio Policy Manager, WHO/UNICEF/World Bank/UNDP Special Program for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases (TDR)
Geneva, Switzerland

Research Interests: International Health
, Health Policy and Health Systems, Public Health

gaslanya@hotmail.com


*Richard T. Burnett, MSc, PhD

Senior Research Scientist, Biostatistics Division, Environmental Health Directorate
Public Health Agency of Canada

Research Interests: Biostatistics, Air Pollution, Risk Assessment


rick_burnett@phac-aspc.gc.ca


Maureen Carew, MD, MSc, FRCPC

Public Health Physician, Directorate Force Health Protection, DGHS
Department of National Defence

Research Interests: Evidence-Based Policies, Clinical Preventive Health Services


Carew.MT@forces.gc.ca


*Bernard Choi, MSc, PhD
Senior Research Scientist
Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Control
Public Health Agency of Canada

Research Interests: Epidemiologic and Biostatistical Methods, Public Health Surveillance, Occupational Epidemiology


bernard.choi@phac-aspc.gc.ca


*Tammy Clifford, PhD, MSc, BSc

Vice President, HTA Directorate
Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH)

Systematic Reviews, Meta-Analyses, Survey Methods
, Pediatrics, HTA

tammyc@cadth.ca


Jean-Pierre Courteau, MD, MSc, CSPQ, FRCPC
Public Health and Preventive Medicine Specialist
Département de santé publique de l'Outaouais

Research Interests:


jean-pierre_courteau@ssss.gouv.qc.ca


Robert Cushman, MD, MSc, MBA, CCFP, FRCPC
Chief Executive Officer (CEO)
Local Health Integration Network (LHIN) for the Champlain region

Research Interests: Injury Prevention


robert.cushman@lhins.on.ca


Nick Drager, MD, PhD

Honorary Professor, Global Health Policy
London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine

Research Interests: Global Health Diplomacy/Governance, Foreign Policy, International Trade and Health including Intellectual Propery and Health


dragern@gmail.com


*Phillip Duclos, MSc, PhD

Medical Officer and Project Leader, Immunization Safety Priority Project
Immunization, Vaccines and Biologicals
World Health Organization

Research Interests: Immunization, Epidemiology and Assessment, Surveillance and Immunization Safety


duclosp@who.int


Edward Ellis, MD, MPH, FRCPC

Manager, Tuberculosis Prevention and Control
Centre for Infectious Disease Prevention and Control
Public Health Agency of Canada

Research Interests: Infectious Diseases, Tuberculosis


edward_ellis@phac-aspc.gc.ca


Abebe Engdasaw, MPH

Multicultural Health Coordinator
City of Ottawa Health Department

Research Interests: Multicultural Health


abebe.engdasaw@ottawa.ca


George Fodor, MD, PhD, FRCPC, FAHA

Head of Research, Minto Prevention and Rehabilitation Centre
University of Ottawa Heart Institute
Professor of Medicine

Research Interests: Cardiovascular Epidemiology


gfodor@ottawaheart.ca



Dara Spatz Friedman, PhD, MPH
Epidemiologist, Evidence, Preparedness and Information Division
Ottawa Public Health

Research Interests: Communicable Disease Surveillance and Epidemiology

dara.friedman@ottawa.ca


Sarah Gorber, PhD, MA, BAH

Scientific Advisor, Canadian Task Force on Preventive Health Care
Public Health Agency of Canada

sarah.connorgorber@phac-aspc.gc.ca


Jamie Hockin, MD, MSc
Director, Professional Development, Office of Public Health Practice
Public Health Agency of Canada

jhockin@uottawa.ca


Tanya Horsley
, PhD
Education Research Scientist, Centre for Learning in Practice
The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons

Research Interests: Systematic reviews and associated methodological research, education research (within the contexts of lifelong learning, continuing medical education and continuing professional development)


thorsley@rcpsc.edu


Stephen Hotz, PhD, C. Psych.

Consultant

Research Interests: Health Psychology, Determinants of Health Behaviour


sbhotz@uottawa.ca


Donald Husereau , BSc Pharm, MSc

Research Interests:
Effective health services based on sound scientific evidence and equitable health policy

don.husereau@gmail.com


Gayatri Jayaraman, MPH, PhD

Head, Surveillance and Epidemiology, Community Aquired Infections Division
Public Health Agency of Canada

Research Interests:


Gayatri_Jayaraman@phac-aspc.gc.ca


Helen Johansen, PhD

Retired; formerly Senior Analyst, Health Analysis Division with Statistics Canada

Research Interests: Record Linkage, Health Information and Surveys


Helen.Johansen@gmail.com


*Ken Johnson, PhD, BA

Research Scientist, Evidence and Risk Assessment Divison
Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Control
Public Health Agency of Canada

Research Interests: Cancer Epidemiology


Ken_LCDC_johnson@phac-aspc.gc.ca


Anifa Kalay, PhD, MD
Research Coordinator-Researcher, Montfort Hospital Research Institute

Reseach Interests: Health Promotion, Epidemiology, Chronic Diseases and Disabilities, International Health, Health Inequities, Minority Health and Child Health

anifakalay@gmail.com


Mark Kaplan, DrPH, MPH, MSW, BA

Professor, School of Community Health,
Portland State Univesity

kaplanm@pdx.edu


*Dafna Kohen, BA(Hons.), MS, MPhil, PhD

Senior Research Analyst, Health Analysis and Measurement Group
Statistics Canada

Research Interests: Poverty and Child Health and Analysis of Survey Data


dafna.Kohen@statcan.ca


Karen Lee, BA, MA
Director, Health Economics
Canadian Agency for Drugs & Technologies in Health (CADTH)

Research Interests: Health Economics


karenl@cadth.ca


Marcus Lem, MD, MHSc, FRCPC
Director, Health Protection
First Nations & Inuit Health, British Columbia Region
Health Canada

Research Interests: Epidemiology, Community Health


Marcus_lem@hc-sc.gc.ca


Isra Levy, MB BCh, MSc, FRCPC, FACPM

Medical Officer of Health
Ottawa Public Health

Research Interests: Cancer and Public Health


Isra.Levy@ottawa.ca



Joan Lindsay, PhD, BA
Epidemiologist Consultant

Research Interests:
Epidemiology of Alzheimer's disease and vascular dementia, disease prevention, population health

jlindsay@uottawa.ca


*Shiliang Liu, PhD, MD, MSc
Senior Research Scientist, Health Surveillance and Epidemiology Division, Centre for Health Promotion
Public Health Agency of Canada

Research Interests: Reproductive, perinatal epidemiology, and maternal and child health


Shiliang_Liu@phac-aspc.gc.ca


*Yang Mao, MSc, PhD
Director, Environment Risk Assessment and Disease Surveillance Division, Cancer Bureau
Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Control
Public Health Agency of Canada

Research Interests: Cancer Epidemiology, Epidemiologic Methods


yang_mao@phac-aspc.gc.ca


Elmabrok Masaoud, MSc, PhD, P.Stat.

Statistician, Epidemiology and Risk Mitigation Section
Food Safety Division
Canadian Food Inspection Agency

Research Interests:
Statistical Models for Observational Data in Epidemiology. The Statistical Methods relevant to such data include Linear or Generalised Linear Mixed Models. Statistical Simulation, Biostatistics, Longitudinal Data Analysis and Data Analysis in general

emasaoud@uottawa.ca


Bette Meek, PhD, MSc, BSc
Associate Director, Chemical Risk Assessment
McLaughlin Centre for Population Health Risk Assessment
University of Ottawa

Research Interests: Interpretation of Epidemiological or other Human Data in Chemical Risk Assessment


bmeek@uottawa.ca


Sharmila Mhatre, PhD, MSc, BSc
Senior Program Specialist
Governance, Equity and Health - Globalization, Growth and Poverty
International Development Research Centre

Research Interests: International Health


smhatre@idrc.ca


Samy Mohanna, MD, CSPQ, FRCPC

Occupational Medicine Consultant

Research Interests: Occupational Health, Community Health Services


ssmohanna@rogers.com


*Howard Morrison, PhD, MSc
Senior Science Advisor, Centre for Chronic Disease
Prevention and Control
Public Health Agency of Canada

Howard_morrison@phac-aspc.gc.ca


Aboubakar Mounchili, PhD, MSc, DVM
Senior Epidemiologist
Public Health Agency of Canada

Research Interests: Public Health, Healthcare-associated Infections and Antimicrobial Resistance


aboubakar.mounchili@phac-aspc.gc.ca


*C. Ineke Neutel, BSc, MSc, PhD, FACE, FISPE, MA

Consultant in Pharmacoepidemiology / Epidemiology Research

Research Interests: Pharmacoepidemiology, esp. psychotropic drugs, Chronic Disease, Ethics


cneutel@uottawa.ca


Edward Ng, PhD

Senior Analyst, Health Analysis Division
Statistics Canada

Research Interests:
Immigrant Health, Health Services Research, Health Inequalities 

edward.ng@statcan.gc.ca


Howard Njoo , MD, MHSc, FRCPC
Director General, Centre for Communicable Diseases and Infection Control
Public Health Agency of Canada

Research Interests: Public Health, Risk Assessment, Risk Management for the Prevention and Control of Tuberculosis


howard_njoo@phac-aspc.gc.ca


Sheila O'Brien, PhD, RN

Director, National Epidemiology and Surveillance
Canadian Blood Services

Research Interests: Transmissible Disease Surveillance of the Blood System
Blood Utilization Research and Epidemiological Aspects of Donor Research


sheila.o'brien@blood.ca


Linda Panaro, MDCM, MHSc, FRCPC
Public Health Medical Advisor
Correctional Service Canada

Research Interests: Communicable Disease Epidemiology, Public Health


panaroli@csc-scc.gc.ca


Dana Paquette, PhD, MSc, BA

Senior Research Analyst, Centre for Communicable Diseases and Infection Control
Public Health Agency of Canada

Research Interests:
Epidemiology of HIV and Hepatitis C, Behavioural Surveillance and Sampling Methods for Reaching Hidden Populations

dana.paquette@phac-aspc.gc.ca


Carolyn Pim , MD, FRCPC
Associate Medical Officer of Health
Ottawa Public Health

Research Interests:


carolyn.pim@ottawa.ca


Rosemarie Ramsingh, MD, FRCPC
Porcupine Health Clinic

Research Interests:


rosemarie.ramsingh@porcupinehu.on.ca


Maura Ricketts, MD, MHSc, FRCPC

Director, Office for Public Health
Canadian Medical Association

Research Interests: Health Policy, Surveillance


maura.ricketts@cma.ca


Grant Russell, MB;BS, FRACGP, MFM PhD
Professor and Director of General Practice Research
Dandenong and Casey Region and Southern Health
Monash University

Research Interests: Understanding and Measuring the Impact of Primary Care Reform on Patients, Clinicians and General Practices


grant.russell@med.monash.edu.au


Beverley Shea, PhD, MSc, BScN, RN
Co-Director, Anisnable Knekendazone (Ottawa AK-NEAHR)
CIET Canada

Research Interests:


bshea@ciet.org


Paula Stewart, MD, CCFP, FRCPC
Director, Chronic Disease Surveillance
Public Health Agency of Canada

Research Interests: Health Promotion, Health Services Evaluation, Maternal and Child Health


paula@paulajstewart.ca


*Marina Sokolova, PhD, MSc

Senior Research Associate, Institute for Big Data Analytics (IBDA)
Dalhousie University

Research Interests: Health Information, Text Data Mining, Data Mining


sokolova@uottawa.ca


*David Stieb, MD, MSc, FRCPC

Medical Epidemiologist, Air Quality Health Effects Research Section
Health Canada

Research Interests: Environmental Epidemiology


dave_stieb@hc-sc.gc.ca


Gregory Taylor, MD, FRCPC
Director General, Office of Public Health Practice
Public Health Agency of Canada

Research Interests: Disease Prevention, Public Health


gregory_taylor@phac-aspc.gc.ca


Steve Tsekrekos, BSc (Hons), MD, FRCPC

Occupational & Environmental Health Medical Specialist
National Defence, Candian Forces Health Service Group,
Directorate of Force Health Protection

Research Interests: Occupational and Environmental Health

Tsekrekos.SN@forces.gc.ca


Anne-Marie Ugnat, PhD

A/Chief, Special Surveillance Initiatives, Surveillance and Risk Assessment Division
Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Control
Public Health Agency of Canada

Research Interests: Disease Surveillance, Biostatistics


anne-marie_ugnat@phac-aspc.gc.ca


Paul Villeneuve, BMath, MSc, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Health Sciences
Carleton University

Research Interests:
Environmental and occupational epidemiology, biostatistics, air pollution, cardiovascular disease, cancer

paul.villeneuve@carleton.ca


Carol Vlassoff, MA, PhD

Acting Area Manager, Knowledge Management and Communication
Pan American Health Organization (PAHO)

Research Interests: HIV/AIDS, Internation Health, Gender and Health


vlassofc@gmail.com


Jeanette Ward, PhD, MHPEd, MBBS

Royal Flying Doctor Service
Australia

Research Interests: Population Health


jward@uottawa.ca


Denise Werker, MD, MHSc, FRCPC
Medical Advisor, Office of Public Health Practice
Public Health Agency of Canada

Research Interests: Surveillance and Communicable Disease Prevention and Control


denise.werker@phac-aspc.gc.ca


Jeff Whitehead, MD, MSc, FRCPC

Public Health Physician, Directorate Force Health Protection, DGHS
Department of National Defence

Research Interests: Clinical Preventive Medicine, Health Surveillance, Outbreak Investigations


Jeff.Whitehead@forces.gc.ca


*Russell Wilkins, MUrb, BEd

Senior Analyst, Health Analysis and Measurement Group
Statistics Canada

Research Interests: Inequalities in Health, Postal Code Conversion, Reproductive Outcomes


russell.wilkins@statcan.ca


Kathryn Williams, BSc, MS

Biostatistician
University of Ottawa Heart Institute

Research Interests: Biostatistics, clinical trial methods and expanding the use of more complex biostatistics techniques in medical research


kwilliams@ottawaheart.ca


Qilong Yi, PhD, MSc
Senior Biostatistician, National Epidemiology and Surveillance Department
Canadian Blood Services

Research Interest:
Mixed model (Hierarchical modelling), Spatial analysis, survival analysis, Markov Modelling, Sample Size calculation, Methology on agreement assessment, Applied statistics in epidemiology and Clinical trials.

qi-long.yi@bloodservices.ca


*Jan Zielinski, MSc, PhD

Research Scientiste
Health Canada

Research Interests: Biostatistics, Cancer Modelling, Risk Assessment, Statistical Computing


jan.zielinski@phac-aspc.gc.ca

(An asterisk (*) designates a member of the Faculty of Graduate and Postgraduate Studies.)

© University of Ottawa
For additional information, consult our list of contacts
Technical questions? medtech@uottawa.ca
Last updated: 2014.07.29