Contact Information
Faculty of Medicine
University of Ottawa
451 Smyth Road,
RGN 2032
Ottawa, Ontario
K1H 8M5 Canada

Tel.: 613-562-5800 ext 8327
Fax: 613-562-5457

Email us

Awards of Excellence

Click here to view photo gallery.

If you would like to order copies of any images from this event, please contact our photographer Ryan Parent at or check his website

Wednesday, December 9th 2009, 2 to 4pm in the Atrium Faculty of Medicine

  • Faculty of Medicine Awards of Excellence (19th year)

    These prizes can be given to teachers, administrators, as well as technical and support staff. Their purpose is to officially recognize the exceptional contributions of some of our employees who have distinguished themselves in the context of their work.
    • Docteur John Joanisse, Assistant Professor, Department of Family Medicine

    • Mr. Steve Callaghan, Research Technologist, Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine

    • Ms. Susan Springthorpe, Director of Research, Center for Research and Environmental Microbiology (CREM)

    • Mlle Catherine Lavergne, Administrative Assistant, Health, Safety and Risk Management and Building Operations

  • Young Professor Award (11th year)

    The Young Professor Award is presented annually to an individual having completed no more than seven years as a Faculty member, and who has made outstanding contributions to research and education.

    • Dr. Robert Screaton, Assistant Professor, Department of Paediatrics
  • Excellence in Mentoring Award (11th year)

    This prize is given to a first-rate mentor who has coached, shouldered and encouraged students and colleagues in the areas of teaching, research, clinical work and administration.

    • Dr. Bernard Jasmin, Acting Vice-Dean, Research

  • André-Péloquin Memorial Award for Excellence in Clinical Medical Education (6th year)

    The André Péloquin Memorial Award will go to an outstanding clinical educator in either the francophone or anglophone stream of undergraduate or postgraduate medical education. Having passed away in March of 2004, Dr. Péloquin was recognized by his colleagues for his great humanity and his devotion to his patients.

    • Dr. Audley Bodurtha, Full Professor, Department of Surgery, Division of General Surgery
© University of Ottawa
For additional information, consult our list of contacts
Technical questions?
Last updated: 2015.09.08